Connecticut County High Points, benchmark data

Arranged alphabetically by county. There are 8 counties in Connecticut; but there are 9 peaks listed since New Haven county, has two points either of which could be the true highest peak.

Key to Column Headings:

ID = Sequential numbering. County = The name of the county. If two counties are listed then the peak is on the county lines. Peak Name = The name as shown on the topo map. A Pxxxx ft. with the elevation of the peak if it is not named on the map. Names in parentheses are alternate names for the peak. EL,ft = Elevation in feet. EL,m = Elevation in meters. EL = How the elevation is shown on the map. A BM entry indicates a brass survey monument or benchmark is at the summit. Topo Map (7.5 min) = The topo map the peak is on. YR = The year of the topo map data was taken from. BM Name = The name stamped on the benchmark. PID = The Permanent Identifier used by the USGS to identify benchmarks. Date = The year the benchmark was first placed.

ID County Peak Name EL,ft EL,m EL Topo Map (7.5 min) YR BM Name PID Date
1 Fairfield P1290 ft 1290 393 BM(I) Pawling (NY-CT) 1976 None
2 Hartford P428 m 1404 428 Inter. Tolland Center (MA-CT) 1987
3 Litchfield, Berkshire South Mt Frissell 2380 725 BM Ashey Falls (MA-CT) 1897 Boundary 1988 CT MA MZ2048 1973
4 Middlesex Bald Hill Range 915 279 BM Middle Haddam 1984 Meshomasic LX6892 1935
5 New Haven P1055 ft. (Alt.) 1055 322 Inter. Southington 1992
6 New Haven P1055 ft. 1055 322 Inter. Southington 1992
7 New London Gates Hill 665 203 Inter. Willimantic 1984
8 Tolland Burley Hill 1314 401 Spot Southbridge (MA-CT) 1982 Burley MZ1535 1977
9 Windham Snow Hill 1205 367 Inter. Westford 1983